Virtuagym vs Trainerize: which one fits your studio?

Virtuagym runs a whole gym from Amsterdam, with memberships, classes, unlimited staff and SEPA and iDEAL payments, priced per location. Trainerize is stronger for online coaching, with an AI workout builder, groups and integrations, priced per client tier in USD.

David Meijer, coach at Omnia Personal TrainingChecked We make Trainnode. How we check

Virtuagym vs Trainerize pricing

Cheapest public plan at each size, one coach, monthly, excluding VAT, in each company’s own currency.

Virtuagym, Trainerize and Trainnode monthly prices by client count
Platform5 clients20 clients50 clients150 clients
Virtuagym (EUR)€58All-in-One 20€58All-in-One 20€80All-in-One 50€108All-in-One 150
Trainerize (USD)$25Pro 5$79Pro 30$135Pro 50$250Pro 200
Trainnode (EUR)€65€65€125€175

Virtuagym vs Trainerize: features

Virtuagym, Trainerize and Trainnode features compared
FeatureVirtuagymTrainerizeTrainnode
Coaching
Coach logs a live session, set by set?Not described on their site.A trainer can open a client’s workout and type in the sets during an in-person session. [7]The coach logs each set as the client lifts, for up to six clients at once, each with their own rest timer. It shows in the client’s app straight away.
Program builder and templatesWorkout and program builder on the Coach plan. [2]Workout and program builder with master workouts and automated delivery. [6]Set by set, with reusable templates, training phases, supersets, tempo and RPE.
Next targets from what was lifted?Not stated on their site.?Not stated on their site.Suggests next session’s targets from what was lifted. The coach reviews them or turns on automatic raises.
Check-ins and forms?Not stated on their site.Check-ins through the FitMetrics integration. [6]Questions on a schedule, asked one at a time in the app. Answers chart over time.
A list of who needs you this week?Not stated on their site.Compliance reports, tags and automated messages. [6]The overview lists who to check in with, who went quiet and which sessions to review.
AI program builderMAX AI Coach. [2]AI Workout Builder. [6]No AI program builder. Coaches write the program.
Running the studio
Clients book 1:1 sessionsClients book their own sessions and classes. [2]Appointments and classes that clients book themselves. [6]Paint each coach’s hours; clients book 1:1 sessions in the app with their credits.
Memberships and session packsMemberships, credits and recurring direct debit. [3]Packages and subscriptions through Stripe, a $10/month add-on. [5]Recurring memberships, session packs that turn into booking credits, and a shop.
iDEAL and SEPA direct debitSEPA direct debit and iDEAL, €0.50 per transaction. [1]?Not stated on their site.iDEAL, SEPA direct debit and cards through your own Mollie account. Trainnode adds €0.15–€0.25 per payment.
Several coaches on one clientUnlimited staff on every plan. [1]Trainer roles and locations; 1 to 6 coaches included depending on the plan. [5]Up to 5 coaches on Small Studio and 20 on Large Gym, sharing notes, injuries and one chat per client.
Client app
Your logo and coloursA custom branded app as an add-on; the price is not public. [4]Own branded app for $169 one-off on Pro, included on Studio plans. [5]Your logo and colours inside the Trainnode app, on every plan. Not a separate App Store listing.
Food loggingMeal plans on the Coach plan. [1]Food logging with barcodes; meal planning is the Advanced Nutrition add-on. [5]Clients log food by barcode or label photo, with recipes, against macro targets per day type.
Health and wearable data?Not stated on their site.Connects to wearables and health apps. [6]Apple Health on iPhone, read-only.
Community groups and feeds?Not stated on their site.Groups, challenges and group messaging. [6]No community feed or groups. One chat per client.
Client app in more languages than English?Not stated on their site.English only; multi-language support is a long-open feature request. [8]English only for now.
Plans and data
Data hosted in the EU?Not stated on their site.?Not stated on their site.Hosted in the EU.
Free planNo free plan. [1]Free for 1 client. [5]No free plan. A 14-day free trial.
  • Included
  • Partly, or a paid add-on
  • Not offered
  • ?Not stated on their site

Pick Virtuagym if

you run a gym with group classes, many members and front-desk needs, at a low price per location.

Trainnode vs Virtuagym

Pick Trainerize if

you coach mostly online, want an AI workout builder, groups and many integrations, and pay in USD.

Trainnode vs Trainerize

Where Trainnode fits

For a PT studio where every session is 1:1, Trainnode is narrower than both and deeper on the session: live set logging, next session’s targets and a list of clients to check in with.

More comparisons

Compare it on your own studio in 30 minutes

David runs a PT studio in Amsterdam on Trainnode. Bring your current setup and he will show you what changes.

Sources and how we check

We make Trainnode, so we are not neutral. Every fact about another product comes from that company’s own site or a public review site, with the date we last checked it. Prices change; check theirs before you decide. Something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.

  1. business.virtuagym.com: prices, checked 16 Oct 2026
  2. business.virtuagym.com: software for PT studios, checked 16 Oct 2026
  3. business.virtuagym.com: payments and invoicing, checked 16 Oct 2026
  4. business.virtuagym.com: personalised fitness app, checked 16 Oct 2026
  5. trainerize.com/pricing, checked 16 Oct 2026
  6. trainerize.com/features, checked 16 Oct 2026
  7. Trainerize blog: using Trainerize for in-person coaching, checked 16 Oct 2026
  8. ABC Trainerize ideas board: multi-language support, checked 16 Oct 2026
  9. Trainerize reviews on Capterra, checked 16 Oct 2026