Coachway alternative for PT studios: Trainnode vs Coachway
Prices, features and the trade-offs, checked on coachway.io. Written for PT studios that coach clients in person, take bookings and get paid by iDEAL or direct debit.
Coachway pricing vs Trainnode at your size
Pick your number of clients and coaches. Both prices are monthly list prices, excluding VAT.
Trainnode · Small Studio
€125 /month
- Up to 5 coaches and 50 clients included
- Booking, payments, branded app and food logging on every plan
- Payments: €0.15–€0.25 each, plus Mollie’s own fee
Coachway · Coachway
€474 /month
- One plan with every feature: €69 for 5 clients, then €9 per extra client
- Built-in payments: 2.4% per transaction through your own Stripe
- 14-day trial, card required
Monthly list prices, excluding VAT, in each company’s own currency (not converted). Trainnode bills in euros.
| Platform | 5 clients | 20 clients | 50 clients | 150 clients |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Trainnode (EUR) | €65 | €65 | €125 | €175 |
| Coachway (EUR) | €69Coachway | €204Coachway | €474Coachway | €1374Coachway |
Features, side by side
Each Coachway cell links to the page we checked. Rows where Coachway is ahead stay in the table.
| Feature | Trainnode | Coachway |
|---|---|---|
| Coaching | ||
| Coach logs a live session, set by set | The coach logs each set as the client lifts, for up to six clients at once, each with their own rest timer. It shows in the client’s app straight away. | ?Not described on their site. |
| Program builder and templates | Set by set, with reusable templates, training phases, supersets, tempo and RPE. | Workout builder with supersets, dropsets, per-set logging and a rest timer. [2] |
| Next targets from what was lifted | Suggests next session’s targets from what was lifted. The coach reviews them or turns on automatic raises. | ?Not stated on their site. |
| Check-ins and forms | Questions on a schedule, asked one at a time in the app. Answers chart over time. | Weekly check-in forms. [2] |
| A list of who needs you this week | The overview lists who to check in with, who went quiet and which sessions to review. | ?Not stated on their site. |
| AI program builder | No AI program builder. Coaches write the program. | ?Not stated on their site. |
| Running the studio | ||
| Clients book 1:1 sessions | Paint each coach’s hours; clients book 1:1 sessions in the app with their credits. | Not built for session booking; they suggest pairing it with a booking tool. [2] |
| Memberships and session packs | Recurring memberships, session packs that turn into booking credits, and a shop. | Coaching packages through your own Stripe, at 2.4% per transaction. [1] |
| iDEAL and SEPA direct debit | iDEAL, SEPA direct debit and cards through your own Mollie account. Trainnode adds €0.15–€0.25 per payment. | iDEAL through your own Stripe account. [3] |
| Several coaches on one client | Up to 5 coaches on Small Studio and 20 on Large Gym, sharing notes, injuries and one chat per client. | Team accounts. [2] |
| Client app | ||
| Your logo and colours | Your logo and colours inside the Trainnode app, on every plan. Not a separate App Store listing. | Logo and colours included; your own store listing is a separate paid option. [4] |
| Food logging | Clients log food by barcode or label photo, with recipes, against macro targets per day type. | Meal plans, macros and food logging. [2] |
| Health and wearable data | Apple Health on iPhone, read-only. | ?Not stated on their site. |
| Community groups and feeds | No community feed or groups. One chat per client. | Group coaching is on their roadmap. [2] |
| Client app in more languages than English | English only for now. | English, Danish, Norwegian, Swedish, Finnish and German; not Dutch. [3] |
| Plans and data | ||
| Data hosted in the EU | Hosted in the EU. | ?Not stated on their site. |
| Free plan | No free plan. A 14-day free trial. | No free plan; a 14-day trial with a card. [1] |
- Included
- Partly, or a paid add-on
- Not offered
- ?Not stated on their site


Clients book their own PT sessions
Paint each coach’s hours once. Clients book in the app with the credits from their pack or membership.


Coach the session on the floor
Log every set as the client lifts, with last time’s numbers beside it. Run up to six clients at once; each sees their session in the app straight away.
Where Coachway is the better pick
- Every feature on one plan, so there is nothing to upgrade or add on.
- A client app in six languages, including German and the Scandinavian languages.
- Nutrition-first coaching with meal plans and macros built in.
Switching from Coachway
Afternoon one
Import clients and programming
Export your clients and programs from Coachway to a spreadsheet and upload it. Trainnode matches the columns and the exercises; you check the matches before anything is saved.
Day two
Invite clients to the app
Each client gets an email invite to the app in your studio’s colours. Keep Coachway running until everyone has moved.
First week
Run your first live session
Connect your Mollie account, paint your coaches’ hours, and coach a session from the dashboard while the client sees it in their app.
Coachway alternative: common questions
How much does Coachway cost per month in 2026?
Coachway is €69 a month for up to 5 clients, then €9 for each extra client, with every feature on one plan. At 20 clients that is €204 a month, at 50 clients €474. Built-in payments cost 2.4% per transaction. From coachway.io/pricing, checked 16 Oct 2026, excluding VAT.
Does Coachway have session booking?
No. Coachway says it is not built for session booking or calendars and suggests pairing it with a booking tool if you sell in-person sessions. In Trainnode, clients book 1:1 sessions in the app with their credits.
Is the Coachway app available in Dutch?
Not yet: Coachway’s client app is in English, Danish, Norwegian, Swedish, Finnish and German. The Trainnode app is in English for now too.
Which is cheaper, Coachway or Trainnode?
For one coach Trainnode is cheaper at every size: Starter is €65 a month for up to 20 clients, against €69 for 5 clients on Coachway. With more clients the gap grows, because Coachway adds €9 per client: at 50 clients Coachway is €474 and Trainnode Small Studio €125, with 5 coaches included.
More comparisons
- Trainnode vs TrainerizeOnline coaching and gyms that want a big ecosystem and integrations
- Trainnode vs TrueCoachOnline trainers delivering programs to a small roster
- Trainnode vs EverfitOnline coaches scaling programs, content and communities
- Trainnode vs My PT HubSolo trainers who want an all-in-one app with unlimited clients
- Trainnode vs PT DistinctionOnline coaches who want automation and their own branded apps
- All PT software comparedEvery platform in one table
Compare it on your own studio in 30 minutes
David runs a PT studio in Amsterdam on Trainnode. Bring your Coachway setup and he will show you what changes.
Sources and how we check
We make Trainnode, so we are not neutral. Every fact about another product comes from that company’s own site or a public review site, with the date we last checked it. Prices change; check theirs before you decide. Something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.
- coachway.io/pricing, checked 16 Oct 2026
- coachway.io/llms-full.txt (their own product summary), checked 16 Oct 2026
- coachway.io: personal trainer software (NL), checked 16 Oct 2026
- coachway.io: client app, checked 16 Oct 2026