Virtuagym alternative for PT studios: Trainnode vs Virtuagym

Prices, features and the trade-offs, checked on business.virtuagym.com. Written for PT studios that coach clients in person, take bookings and get paid by iDEAL or direct debit.

David Meijer, coach at Omnia Personal TrainingChecked We make Trainnode. How we check

Virtuagym pricing vs Trainnode at your size

Pick your number of clients and coaches. Both prices are monthly list prices, excluding VAT.

Active clients
Coaches

Trainnode · Small Studio

€125 /month

  • Up to 5 coaches and 50 clients included
  • Booking, payments, branded app and food logging on every plan
  • Payments: €0.15–€0.25 each, plus Mollie’s own fee

Virtuagym · All-in-One 50

€80 /month

  • All-in-One (management and coaching), per location, monthly billing
  • Management only from €19; coaching only from €39
  • SEPA and iDEAL: €0.50 per transaction
  • Unlimited staff; custom branded app on request

Monthly list prices, excluding VAT, in each company’s own currency (not converted). Trainnode bills in euros.

Virtuagym pricing vs Trainnode at four studio sizes (one coach)
Platform5 clients20 clients50 clients150 clients
Trainnode (EUR)€65€65€125€175
Virtuagym (EUR)€58All-in-One 20€58All-in-One 20€80All-in-One 50€108All-in-One 150

Features, side by side

Each Virtuagym cell links to the page we checked. Rows where Virtuagym is ahead stay in the table.

Trainnode and Virtuagym features compared
FeatureTrainnodeVirtuagym
Coaching
Coach logs a live session, set by setThe coach logs each set as the client lifts, for up to six clients at once, each with their own rest timer. It shows in the client’s app straight away.?Not described on their site.
Program builder and templatesSet by set, with reusable templates, training phases, supersets, tempo and RPE.Workout and program builder on the Coach plan. [2]
Next targets from what was liftedSuggests next session’s targets from what was lifted. The coach reviews them or turns on automatic raises.?Not stated on their site.
Check-ins and formsQuestions on a schedule, asked one at a time in the app. Answers chart over time.?Not stated on their site.
A list of who needs you this weekThe overview lists who to check in with, who went quiet and which sessions to review.?Not stated on their site.
AI program builderNo AI program builder. Coaches write the program.MAX AI Coach. [2]
Running the studio
Clients book 1:1 sessionsPaint each coach’s hours; clients book 1:1 sessions in the app with their credits.Clients book their own sessions and classes. [2]
Memberships and session packsRecurring memberships, session packs that turn into booking credits, and a shop.Memberships, credits and recurring direct debit. [3]
iDEAL and SEPA direct debitiDEAL, SEPA direct debit and cards through your own Mollie account. Trainnode adds €0.15–€0.25 per payment.SEPA direct debit and iDEAL, €0.50 per transaction. [1]
Several coaches on one clientUp to 5 coaches on Small Studio and 20 on Large Gym, sharing notes, injuries and one chat per client.Unlimited staff on every plan. [1]
Client app
Your logo and coloursYour logo and colours inside the Trainnode app, on every plan. Not a separate App Store listing.A custom branded app as an add-on; the price is not public. [4]
Food loggingClients log food by barcode or label photo, with recipes, against macro targets per day type.Meal plans on the Coach plan. [1]
Health and wearable dataApple Health on iPhone, read-only.?Not stated on their site.
Community groups and feedsNo community feed or groups. One chat per client.?Not stated on their site.
Client app in more languages than EnglishEnglish only for now.?Not stated on their site.
Plans and data
Data hosted in the EUHosted in the EU.?Not stated on their site.
Free planNo free plan. A 14-day free trial.No free plan. [1]
  • Included
  • Partly, or a paid add-on
  • Not offered
  • ?Not stated on their site
A live coaching session in the Trainnode dashboard: Lotte’s Barbell Back Squat with targets per set, last time’s numbers and the rest of the workout beside it.

Coach the session on the floor

Log every set as the client lifts, with last time’s numbers beside it. Run up to six clients at once; each sees their session in the app straight away.

Clients to check in with on the Trainnode overview: one client to check in with, grouped from the last eight weeks, with a Message button beside her.

See who went quiet while it still matters

The overview groups every client by how they trained over the last eight weeks, and puts the ones to check in with next to a Message button.

Where Virtuagym is the better pick

  • Lower prices per location: €80 a month for 50 clients on All-in-One.
  • Group classes, gym access and front-desk tools, next to PT.
  • Unlimited staff on every plan.
  • A Dutch company with its site, prices and sales in Dutch.

Switching from Virtuagym

Studios that also run group classes may keep Virtuagym for those and move the PT side to Trainnode.

  1. Afternoon one

    Import clients and programming

    Export your clients and programs from Virtuagym to a spreadsheet and upload it. Trainnode matches the columns and the exercises; you check the matches before anything is saved.

  2. Day two

    Invite clients to the app

    Each client gets an email invite to the app in your studio’s colours. Keep Virtuagym running until everyone has moved.

  3. First week

    Run your first live session

    Connect your Mollie account, paint your coaches’ hours, and coach a session from the dashboard while the client sees it in their app.

Virtuagym alternative: common questions

What does Virtuagym cost for a PT studio in 2026?

Virtuagym prices per location. All-in-One (management and coaching) is €58 a month for 20 clients, €80 for 50 and €108 for 150; management alone starts at €19 and coaching alone at €39. SEPA and iDEAL cost €0.50 per transaction. From business.virtuagym.com, checked 16 Oct 2026, excluding VAT.

Is Virtuagym or Trainnode better for 1:1 personal training?

Virtuagym covers a whole gym, from group classes to access control. Trainnode does one thing in more depth: the 1:1 session, with live set logging, next session’s targets and an overview of which clients went quiet.

How do Virtuagym payment fees compare with Trainnode?

Virtuagym lists €0.50 per SEPA or iDEAL transaction. Trainnode adds a fixed fee per payment on top of Mollie’s own fee, through your own Mollie account.

Can I move my clients from Virtuagym to Trainnode?

Yes. Export your clients to a spreadsheet and upload it; Trainnode matches the columns and you check them before anything is saved. Then invite clients to the app.

More comparisons

Compare it on your own studio in 30 minutes

David runs a PT studio in Amsterdam on Trainnode. Bring your Virtuagym setup and he will show you what changes.

Sources and how we check

We make Trainnode, so we are not neutral. Every fact about another product comes from that company’s own site or a public review site, with the date we last checked it. Prices change; check theirs before you decide. Something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.

  1. business.virtuagym.com: prices, checked 16 Oct 2026
  2. business.virtuagym.com: software for PT studios, checked 16 Oct 2026
  3. business.virtuagym.com: payments and invoicing, checked 16 Oct 2026
  4. business.virtuagym.com: personalised fitness app, checked 16 Oct 2026